Plan Your Visit

Visitors are always welcome at our architecturally distinctive building, designed to recall a shtetl—the iconic Jewish town of Eastern Europe—and set on a ten-acre apple orchard at the edge of the campus of Hampshire College in Amherst, Massachusetts. We’re a two-hour drive from Boston, three hours from New York, and one hour from the Berkshires. 

Admission

Suggested donation: $8 for adults; $6 for seniors. Free for members, students, and children.

Hours

The Center is open Sunday to Friday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Free guided tours are available Sundays at 11 a.m. and 1 p.m. and Tuesdays at 2 p.m. Group tours can also be arranged.

We also offer a year-round schedule of programs and special events.

We're closed on Shabbos (Saturday) and Jewish and legal holidays.

In 2016, we'll be closed on these holidays:​

  • Labor Day: Monday, September 5
  • Rosh Hashanah: Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday, October 2 - 4
  • Yom Kippur: Close at noon Tuesday, October 11; closed Wednesday, October 12
  • Sukkos: Monday and Tuesday, October 17 - 18
  • Shemini Atzereth: Monday, October 24
  • Simchas Torah: Tuesday, October 25
  • Thanksgiving: Close at noon Wednesday, November 23; closed Thursday and Friday, November 24 - 25
  • Christmas: Sunday and Monday, December 25 - 26

In 2017, we'll be closed on these holidays:​

  • New Year’s: Sunday and Monday, January 1 - 2
  • Martin Luther King's Birthday: Monday, January 16
  • Pesach: Close at noon Monday, April 10; closed Tuesday and Wednesday, April 11 - 12; closed Monday and Tuesday, April 17 - 18
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 29
  • Shevuos: Closed Wednesday and Thursday, May 31 - June 1
  • Independence Day: Tuesday, July 4
  • Labor Day: Monday, September 4
  • Rosh Hashanah: Close at noon Wednesday, September 20; closed Thursday and Friday, September 21 - 22
  • Yom Kippur: Close at noon Friday, September 29
  • Sukkos: Thursday and Friday, October 5 - 6
  • Shemini Atzereth: Thursday, October 12
  • Simchas Torah: Friday, October 13
  • Thanksgiving: Close at noon Wednesday, November 22; closed Thursday and Friday, November 23 - 24
  • Christmas: Monday, December 25

Accommodations

We're located in Massachusetts' Pioneer Valley, home to renowned museums and colleges, a lively restaurant scene, eclectic shops, and a wide range of hotels and inns. 

To learn more about places to stay, eat, shop, and explore, go to Visit Hampshire County

And while you're in the area, be sure to visit the other members of Museums10, the regional museums collaborative of which the Yiddish Book Center is a proud member. 

Directions

GPS: Set destination as “Hampshire College, Amherst, MA.” Once you arrive on campus, follow signs to the Yiddish Book Center.

Click here for directions and a map of the area. 
Or download complete directions by car, plane, train, bus, and public transit: