Search

Want a deeper search?

Search the full text of our books in Yiddish at our Full-Text Book Search Site.

ocr.yiddishbookcenter.org

Results for your search for "Tevye" .

Clear results

Showing 81100 of 292 result(s)

גערעכטיגקייט

באַנד: Vol. 2

Gerechtigkeit (Justice)

Volume: Vol. 2

October 15, 1920

Part of Gerechtigkeit (Justice) - ILGWU Newspaper

גערעכטיגקייט

באַנד: Vol. 2

Gerechtigkeit (Justice)

Volume: Vol. 2

October 22, 1920

Part of Gerechtigkeit (Justice) - ILGWU Newspaper

גערעכטיגקייט

באַנד: Vol. 2

Gerechtigkeit (Justice)

Volume: Vol. 2

December 24, 1920

Part of Gerechtigkeit (Justice) - ILGWU Newspaper

Anna Shternshis

Anna Shternshis, Professor of Yiddish Studies at the University of Toronto, was interviewed by Agnieszka Ilwicka on December 20, 2016 at the Association for Jewish Studies Conference in San Diego, California. Anna was born in Moscow in what was then...

2016-12-20

Part of Yiddish Book Center's Wexler Oral History Project

געזאמעלטע שריפטען

באַנד: 11

אש, שלום

Gezamelṭe shrifṭen

Volume: 11

Asch, Sholem, 1880-1957

Nyu Yorḳ : Shalom Ash Ḳomiṭeṭ, 1923

Part of Yiddish Book Center's Spielberg Digital Yiddish Library

Uwe von Seltmann

Uwe von Seltmann, German author and journalist, was interviewed by Agnieszka Ilwicka on January 3, 2016 in Krakow, Poland. As his family was loathe to discuss such things, it took a while for Uwe to figure out that his grandfather served in the SS i...

2016-01-03

Part of Yiddish Book Center's Wexler Oral History Project

Saul Rubinek

Saul Rubinek, actor, was interviewed by Christa Whitney on November 29, 2017 in Hollywood, California. His father's family were Hasidim in Lodz; he rejected their traditional ways and became an actor. His mother's more secular family owned a flour m...

2017-11-29

Part of Yiddish Book Center's Wexler Oral History Project

Hilary Salk

Hilary Salk, activist and author, was interviewed by Jayne Pearl on October 10, 2011 at the Yiddish Book Center in Amherst, Massachusetts. Hilary was born in 1942, just days after her maternal grandfather died. Because her father Aaron Peter Ross, ...

2011-10-10

Part of Yiddish Book Center's Wexler Oral History Project

Eli Kwartler

Eli Kwartler, Jewish Community of Amherst co-president, was interviewed by Christa Whitney on April 4, 2012 at the Yiddish Book Center in Amherst, Massachusetts. Eli believes his father emigrated from Galicia around 1920, while his mother was born i...

2012-04-04

Part of Yiddish Book Center's Wexler Oral History Project

Steven Spielberg

Steven ‘Shmuel’ Spielberg’s epic contribution to Yiddish culture

According to The Forward, for readers of Yiddish books, Spielberg’s special birthday is an opportunity to highlight another great contribution of his.

Part of Pages

Gloria Lieberman and Steven Holm

"It had to be Yiddish. There was no other way.” A sister honors her brother's memory

Part of Pages

Bertha Kling’s Jewish Bronx Neighborhood, with David Mazower and Dr. Steven Payne

Join Dr. Steven Payne in conversation with David Mazower for a virtual tour of Yiddish poet Bertha Kling's neighborhood in the early-to-mid-twentieth century.

Part of Pages

Lauren Brody playing accordion and Steve Weintraub instructing.

WORKSHOP | New Solo Yiddish Dances, with Steve Weintraub and Lauren Brody | Saturday, July 9, 10:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. EDT

Description
YIDSTOCK 2022 | Inspired by restrictions imposed by concerns for safety during the pandemic, world-famous dance instructor Steve Weintraub presents Jewish folk dances specifically choreographed so that dancers mostly face forward and can dance alone.

Part of Pages

20.07.10_1100 - Steve Weintraub 2000.jpg

WORKSHOP | Go Figure: Dances for Partners and Groups, with Steve Weintraub and Lauren Brody | Friday, July 8, 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. EDT

Description
YIDSTOCK 2022 | World-renowned dance instructor Steve Weintraub offers an overview of the Yiddish style of dance. Click to read more and purchase tickets.

Part of Pages

The Universality of Fiddler on the Roof and Its Revolutionary Impact on Broadway

Marc Aronson, son of Yiddish theater set designers Boris and Lisa Aronson, discusses his reaction to Fiddler on the Roof's success, its influence on Broadway, and its universal messages about tradition, modernity, and identity.

Part of Yiddish Book Center's Wexler Oral History Project Excerpts

Thelma Oldak Finkler

Thelma Oldak Finkler, Yiddish translator and English teacher who grew up in Mexico, was interviewed by Christa Whitney on October 28, 2015 in Huixquilucan, Mexico. Thelma's father's family came from Poland and her mother's from Russia. She tells a st...

2015-10-28

Part of Yiddish Book Center's Wexler Oral History Project

Beyond Anatevka: The Challenges of Documenting Yiddish Life without Yiddish

Marlene Hait, raised in a Yiddish home by survivors of the Holocaust, reflects on the complexity of Eastern European Jewish life and the ways in which modern film and literature have failed to capture it.

Part of Yiddish Book Center's Wexler Oral History Project Excerpts

"Off-Broadway," A Phrase Courtesy of the Yiddish Theater

Hershl Hartman, native Yiddish speaker and educational director at the Sholem Community in California, shares some anecdotes about Yiddish theater in New York City.

Part of Yiddish Book Center's Wexler Oral History Project Excerpts

Annotated Guide to Sholem Aleichem

Sholem Aleichem was the most popular Yiddish writer. His books were in seemingly every Jewish home—and many of them were collected by the Yiddish Book Center. Learn about our rich collection of materials by and about Sholem Aleichem

Part of Pages

Four Theses on Translating Yiddish Literature in the 21st Century

Four Theses on Translating Yiddish Literature in the 21st Century

Part of Pakn Treger articles